What's On

Wednesday, January 29, 2020

Thursday, January 30, 2020

Friday, January 31, 2020

Saturday, February 01, 2020

Sunday, February 02, 2020

Monday, February 03, 2020

Tuesday, February 04, 2020

Wednesday, February 05, 2020

Thursday, February 06, 2020

Friday, February 07, 2020

Saturday, February 08, 2020

Sunday, February 09, 2020

  • Pencarrow House & Gardens

    Snowdrop Sundays - Pencarrow House & Gardens

    Snowdrop Sundays

    Come and witness the first signs of spring when we open our gardens for our visitors to see our beautiful snowdrops. This is a charity event and a suggested donation of £5.00 per person is appreciated. The chosen charities this year will be CLEAR and Parkinsons Research

    10.00 – 4.00pm

    The Peacock cafe will be open for delicious light lunches and snacks


     

Monday, February 10, 2020

  • St Ives

    Feast & Hurling the Silver Ball - St Ives

    St Ives Feast & Hurling the Silver Ball

    What’s it all about?

    The St Ives Feast is an ancient tradition that celebrates the anniversary of the consecration of the Parish Church of St Eia in 1434 AD and offers a rare chance to watch the game of Hurling the Silver Ball, a centuries old form of rugby.

    What happens?

    It all starts off with the mayor’s civic procession for the blessing at St Ia Well near Porthmeor Beach followed by the start of the boisterous hurling of the silver ball when participants attempt to win the ball off each other around the town. Whoever returns the ball to the mayor on the steps of St Ives Guildhall on the stroke of midday receives a silver coin. In the afternoon, pennies are proffered from the balcony by town councillors to the waiting children on the Guildhall forecourt.

    How can you take part?

    Taking place in one of Cornwall’s most popular seaside towns, watching the hurling is an intriguing insight into one of Cornwall’s most ancient traditions. Take a ring side seat near the beach and cheer for your favourite participant, some of whom dive into the chilly sea to escape with the ball.

    09052 522250

    St Ives Feast & Hurling the Silver Ball
    Central St Ives
    St Ives
    Cornwall
    TR26 2DS

    Visit WEBSITE


     

Tuesday, February 11, 2020